Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.

Now Accepting Nominations for 2014 Paul V. Miles Award

Wednesday, October 16, 2013 - 00:00

Do you know a colleague with outstanding accomplishments in Quality Improvement? Nominations for the 2014 Paul V. Miles Fellowship in Quality Improvement are now being accepted. This award was created to honor the passion for quality improvement within health care for children that Dr. Paul V. Miles exhibited throughout his career, including his years of service with the ABP.

The PVM Fellow is awarded $10,000 and travel expenses to meet with the ABP and share his or her experience and insights on how the ABP can further advance the mission of pediatricians devoted to better health care for children.

To be considered for this award a nominee must meet the following requirements:

  • Be an early- to mid-career individual who has been significantly involved in pediatric quality improvement.
  • Demonstrate accomplishments in advancing quality improvement science relevant to child health and/or leading efforts that improve the quality of health care for children.
  • Willing to travel during the Fellowship year to the ABP, either in Chapel Hill or at one of the Board's meetings, and share experience and insights, both formally and informally.

Nomination packets should include:

  • A nomination letter from someone who knows the individual's work well, such as a department chair or colleague, describing the nominee's accomplishments and role in these accomplishments in detail. The letter should include an explanation of how this individual might inform the Board in its work.
  • A current CV.

Nominations and supporting materials should be submitted to ABP President and CEO Dr. David G. Nichols by December 31, 2013. The PVM Fellow will be announced in early 2014.

In June 2013, the ABP named Paul Sharek, MD, MPH as the inaugural Paul V. Miles Fellow in Quality Improvement.

Read the full press release about Paul Sharek, MD, MPH receiving the Paul V. Miles Fellow Award.